BOOK REVIEW: A Light in the Flame (Flesh and Fire #2) by Jennifer L Armentrout

BOOK REVIEW: A Light in the Flame (Flesh and Fire #2) by Jennifer L Armentrout

A Light in the Flame (Flesh and Fire #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Purchase on: Amazon, iBooks, Book Depository Add to: Goodreads


The only one who can save Sera now is the one she spent her life planning to kill.
The truth about Sera’s plan is out, shattering the fragile trust forged between her and Nyktos. Surrounded by those distrustful of her, all Sera has is her duty. She will do anything to end Kolis, the false King of Gods, and his tyrannical rule of Iliseeum, thus stopping the threat he poses to the mortal realm.
Nyktos has a plan, though, and as they work together, the last thing they need is the undeniable, scorching passion that continues to ignite between them. Sera cannot afford to fall for the tortured Primal, not when a life no longer bound to a destiny she never wanted is more attainable than ever. But memories of their shared pleasure and unrivaled desire are a siren’s call impossible to resist.
And as Sera begins to realize that she wants to be more than a Consort in name only, the danger surrounding them intensifies. The attacks on the Shadowlands are increasing, and when Kolis summons them to Court, a whole new risk becomes apparent. The Primal power of Life is growing inside her, pushing her closer to the end of her Culling. And without Nyktos’s love—an emotion he’s incapable of feeling—she won’t survive her Ascension. That is if she even makes it to her Ascension and Kolis doesn’t get to her first. Because time is running out. For both her and the realms.

A Light in the Flame takes readers on a mesmerizing, action-packed ride! From the exhilarating blend of joy and heartache to the intricate plot, this book is impossible to put down. As the world unfolds, feelings and motivations shift, keeping readers on the edge of their seats. This enchanting story quickly becomes a favorite, captivating romance and fantasy enthusiasts alike!

The story picks up right where the previous book left off, plunging readers into a whirlwind of emotions. The banter between Sera and Ash is delightful, providing much-needed relief from the weight of their circumstances. Duty and sacrifice intertwine with secrets lurking in the shadows, ratcheting up the tension. The battles, betrayals, and heart-wrenching moments make it impossible to escape the intensity. However, amidst the darkness, moments of loyalty, friendship, and love shine through, illuminating the pages.

Sera’s character shines brightly as she faces the loathing of those who despise her for her plans. Despite the judgment, she proves her worth by standing her ground and doing what is right. Her unwavering bravery and protective nature are admirable. Whether slicing through enemies with a sword or with her words, readers will cheer on Sera every step of the way.

Ash, or Nyktos as he is now known, is a complex character. He is willing to sacrifice everything to protect Sera, but his actions might break readers’ hearts. The question of whether his feelings are genuine or influenced by external forces lingers throughout the story. Nyktos’s words and actions elicit a range of emotions, from joy to sorrow, leaving readers emotionally invested in his journey.

The chemistry between Sera and Nyktos is scorching hot, resulting in steamy scenes that are sensual and erotic. Their love is tested repeatedly, both by external forces and their own doubts. Lighter moments provide much-needed relief from the intensity, showcasing the depth of their connection. Shocking revelations and broken trust keep readers on the edge of their seats, rooting for this power couple.

As the story unfolds, it takes unexpected turns, leaving readers desperate to uncover the truth. The shocking events that unfold and the ever-evolving world will leave readers stunned. With perilous scenes and foreshadowing that both terrify and excite, the book keeps readers hooked. Laughter amidst intense moments brings balance and warmth to the story. Memorable characters like Jaden and Reaver steal the spotlight, adding even more depth to the narrative.

A Light in the Flame is a must-read that combines unthinkable sacrifices, shocking revelations, and emotional moments that will make tears flow. While the book is filled with dread, there is also hope for what lies ahead. The friendship, care, and love that permeate the pages will warm readers’ hearts. The ending, while a cliffhanger, leaves room for anticipation and reflection. For fans of thrilling moments, this book is a treat, and readers will eagerly await the next installment.

Reading Order & Links:

  • Amazon (click on covers)

  • iBooks (click on titles)

  • Book Depository (click on book number)

  • From Blood and Ash (Blood and Ash Series) #1

  • A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire (Blood and Ash Series) #2

  • The Crown of Gilded Bones (Blood and Ash Series) #3

  • A Shadow in the Ember (Flesh and Fire Series) #1

  • The War of Two Queens (Blood and Ash Series) #4

  • A Light in the Flame (Flesh and Fire Series) #2

  • A Soul of Ash and Blood (Blood and Ash Series) #5

Related Posts